I made it alive to Japan! It was a long, grueling process but I made it in one piece. When I got to the airport, the person checking me in gave me a security pass so that my mom could come in and stay with me until my flight left. It was really nice to have someone I knew there with me to calm the butterflies in my stomach. Both my flights were later than they were expecting, so I was very nervous about those connections. But I made it for the right boarding times, with a little running involved. Whew!

Customs went well and wasn’t nearly as scary as I was expecting. I’m writing this on borrowed wifi from the airport – I may not have internet at the campus for a while, so don’t expect to hear anything too soon.

It’s hard to believe that I’m actually here – here, in Japan! Wow!

It’s mindblowing.

