IMG_2567

 

Today is a Japanese holiday, so we didn’t have school. The weather was very cool (bordering on chilly, in fact), so I had to go for a walk. I went to the nearby park and just kept walking. The park was full of kids and their parents having fun – people walking their dogs, etc. I found a nearby grocery store, interestingly, and a shop where a man was carving statues out of blocks of wood. I passed a man who was holding a purple flower, sniffing it discreetly as he kept walking with a smile.

I took the above picture of my seminar house. You can see the mountains in the background, and if you were to do a 180 and look the other way, you would see them too. The path from Osaka to Kyoto is actually a large valley between two mountain lines.

The big red building is the seminar house. In front of it you can see the Japanese graveyard, and by the street you’ll notice a guard. I pass perhaps five of them every day going to school. Usually I nod and say “good morning.” The ones at Kansai Gaidai are very friendly. Yesterday when I left, one of them cheerily waved his hand, with a big grin on his face, and said, “Bye bye!”

I have no idea why the skyline of most of Japan is dominated by those monstrous electric lines. I think it just has to do with so many people on such a small amount of land.

But yeah, it was a lovely day today.

